Security through obscurity

I’ve never been able to keep a blog for very long because the idea of being vulnerable in public terrifies me, and I feel like everything I would write if it were attached to my name is a serious liability. Something about personal branding. I’m still hanging on to this idea of being a Serious Professional Person instead of a committed wingnut, so I had to start this blog out of frustration so I could talk about depression and hating people.

Re-reading these posts always makes me happy because of brutally true they feel. I pull no punches here and it feels genuine and raw every time I come back to it, unlike the vast majority of the rest of my work, where I’m just telling all sorts of lies about how I feel about what I’m doing to make it seem like the most amazing thing that ever happened.

 

Leave a comment